SASTRA Ramanujan Prize 2016

IAS Prelims 2023

The 2016 SASTRA-Ramanujan award for mathematics was awarded to Maksym Radziwill of McGill University, Canada. The joint winner is Kaisa Matomaki of University of Turku, Finland.

The Professor Matomaki is the first woman to receive the prize since it was instituted in 2005.

The award citation and the shared prize money of $ 5,000 was presented by Prof. Steven Weintraub from Lehigh University who is also the Associate Secretary of the American Mathematical Society.

SASTRA University presents the Ramanujan award to a leading mathematician under 32 years. This year the prize has been jointly given to Kaisa Matomaki and Maksym Radziwill for their ‘revolutionary’ collaborative work on short intervals in number theory.