Viktor Axelsen Won India Open Title

IAS Prelims 2023

The India Open (officially titled as the Yonex-Sunrise India Open) is an annual badminton event which has been held in India since 2008. In 2011, it was upgraded to the BWF Superseries tournament. Since then, it has been held annually at the Siri Fort Sports Complex, New Delhi.

Viktor Axelsen of Denmark beat Chinese Taipei’s Tien Chen Chou in straight games to emerge men’s singles champion at the 2017 India Open Super Series badminton tournament.

Olympic silver medallist P.V. Sindhu beat Carolina Marin of Spain in straight games to win her maiden India Open Superseries badminton title.

Seventh seeded Japanese duo of Shiho Tanaka and Koharu Yonemoto beat third seeded compatriots Naoko Fukuman and Kurumi Yonao to lift the women’s doubles title.

Top seeds Siwei Zheng and Qingchen Chen of China defeated countrymate and second seeds Lu Kai and Huang Yaqiong 22-24 21-14 21-17 to claim the mixed doubles title.