18 Biosphere Reserves in India

Biosphere Reserve (BR) is an international designation by UNESCO for representative parts of natural and cultural landscapes extending over large area of terrestrial or coastal/ marine ecosystems or a combination thereof.

BRs are designated to deal with one of the most important questions of reconciling the conservation of biodiversity, the quest for economic and social development and maintenance of associated cultural values.

BRs are thus special environments for both people and the nature and are living examples of how human beings and nature can co-exist while respecting each other’s needs.

There are 18 Biosphere Reserves in the country.

The Biosphere Reserve Programme is guided by UNESCO Man and Biosphere (MAB) programme as India is a signatory to the landscape approach supported by MAB programme.

A scheme called Biosphere Reserve is being implemented by Government of India since 1986, in which financial assistance is given in 90:10 ratio to the North Eastern Region States and three Himalayan states and in the ratio of 60:40 to other states for maintenance, improvement and development of certain items.

The State Government prepares the Management Action Plan which is approved and monitored by Central MAB Committee.


1) Cold Desert, Himachal Pradesh

2) Nanda Devi, Uttrakhand

3) Khangchendzonga, Sikkim

4) Dehang-Debang, Arunachal Pradesh

5) Manas, Assam

6) Dibru-Saikhowa, Assam

7) Nokrek, Meghalaya

8) Panna, Madhya Pradesh

9) Pachmarhi, Madhya Pradesh

10) Achanakmar-Amarkantak, Madhya Pradesh-Chattisgarh

11) Kachchh, Gujarat

12) Similipal, Odisha

13) Sundarban, West Bengal

14) Seshachalam, Andhra Pradesh

15) Agasthyamala, Karnataka-Tamil Nadu-Kerala

16) Nilgiri, Tamil Nadu-Kerala

17) Gulf of Mannar, Tamil Nadu

18) Great Nicobar, Andaman & Nicobar Island