Pollution caused by Industries

Regulation of industrial pollution is implemented through various provisions of the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974 under Consent mechanism by the respective State Pollution Control Board (SPCB) in the States and Pollution Control Committee (PCC) in the Union Territory. Industries complying with the effluent discharge norms prescribed in the consent under the Water Act by the SPCBs/PCCs are only allowed to discharge treated industrial effluents into the environment such as inland surface water, public sewers, on land for irrigation and marine coastal areas. Government of India stipulated General discharge standards and industry specific effluent discharge standards under the Environment (Protection) Rules, 1986 with an aim to prevent pollution in the water bodies. SPCBs/PCC also identify and accordingly specifies the outlets for discharge of treated effluent. Discharge of any treated or untreated wastewater arising from any industrial process is not permitted to be dumped in groundwater through boring.           

Central Ground Water Authority vide SO. 3289 ( E) dated 24.09.2020has notified Guidelines for regulation and control of ground water extraction in India, and injection of treated/ untreated waste water into aquifer system is strictly prohibited. 

As per information provided by CPCB, one public complaint was received against M/s Milton Laboratories Pvt. Ltd. , Sanyasikuppam,  Mannadipet Commune Panchayat, Puducheery  for discharging untreated effluent by constructing a  borewell.  Appropriate actions are taken under section 33A of  the Water (Prevention  and  Control of Pollution) Act, 1974.

Central Pollution Control Board and Central Ground Water Authority/Board, in collaboration, and from time to time, organize training programmes and workshops for stakeholders for awareness generation, prevention and control of pollution.

This information was given by Shri Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Minister of State, Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change in Lok Sabha today.



    Source PIB