Robert De Niro Gets Chaplin Award

The Film Society of Lincoln Center has named veteran actor Robert De Niro as the recipient of its 44th annual Chaplin Award.

De Niro took home the 2017 trophy for a four-decade acting career that includes film credits like “Mean Streets”, “Raging Bull”, “The Godfather” and “Silver Linings Playbook”, reports

He is also the co-founder of the Tribeca Film Festival, launched in the wake of 9/11 attack in an effort to boost the economic prospects of lower Manhattan.

De Niro joins a list of previous Chaplin recipients that includes Alfred Hitchcock, Elizabeth Taylor, Meryl Streep, Billy Wilder and last year’s honoree, Morgan Freeman.

The 44th annual Chaplin Award gala will take place on May 8, 2017.