Shashank Manohar Resigns as BCCI President

Shashank Manohar has resigned as the president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the chairman of International Cricket Council (ICC).

The move has come in anticipation of Mr. Manohar set to be re-nominated as ICC chief during the governing body’s annual board meeting scheduled for next month.

When Mr. Manohar took over as the BCCI president for a second term last October, days after the demise of the then president, Jagmohan Dalmiya, he was designated as the ICC chairman. However, with the ICC set to revert to its old rule of not allowing its chief to hold a post in his/her home board, Mr. Manohar has stepped down.

The deadline for filing the nomination for the ICC chief’s post is May 23. The BCCI will have to propose Mr. Manohar as its ICC presidential candidate.

BCCI has two weeks to elect a new president. Manohar’s resignation leaves BCCI a headless body for the second time in less than a year.

According to its controversial rulebook, which has been under the scanner of the apex court, secretary Anurag Thakur will now have to call a Special General Body Meeting within two weeks to elect a new president.

The new president, who will have to be nominated by at least one of the six full members from the east zone, will be in charge till the 2017 AGM. An aspiring candidate should have attended at least two AGMs and have held the post of an office-bearer or vice-president in the past.

IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla and BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur are the frontrunners to occupy the vacant chair. Ajay Shirke, former treasurer, and current vice-president G Gangaraju are also in contention for the post.