Chapter on Housing


  • JNNURM was launched on 3rd December 2005 to implement reform driven, planned development of cities in a Mission mode manner.
  • The Mission comprises four components of which two, viz, the Sub-Mission for Urban Infrastructure and Government (UIG) and the Sub-Mission for Basic Services to the Urban Poor (BSUP) are implemented in 65 select cities.
  • The other two components, namely, Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT) and Integrated Housing and Slum Development Programme (IHSDP) are implemented in other cities/towns.
  • The Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation is implementing BSUP and IHSDP components of JNNURM.
  • The other two components, viz., UIG and UIDSSMT are implemented by the Ministry of Urban Development (UD).
  • Duration of the Mission was 7 years from 2005-06 to 31st March, 2012, which was extended for 2 years upto 31st March, 2014.
  • For the BSUP & IHSDP Components, the period has further been extended upto 31st March, 2015 for completion of projects sanctioned upto 31st March, 2012.


  • The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs has approved launch of Implementation Phase of Rajiv Awas Yojana (RAY) as a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS), to be implemented in Mission mode during 2013-2022.
  • The preparatory phase of RAY was launched in June, 2011 which came to an end in June, 2013.
  • Rajiv Awas Yojana (RAY) envisages a “Slum Free India” with inclusive and equitable cities in which every citizen has access to basic civic infra structure, social amenities and decent shelter.
  • Objectives of the Scheme are to improving and provisioning of housing, basic civic infrastructure and social amenities in intervened slums; enabling reforms to address some of the causes leading to creation of slums.
  • RAY provides financial support to States/UTs/Urban Local Bodies.